previous

Big News and Big Ideas
May 14, 2005 - 2:04 p.m.

next

A piece of belated news...

Trinity held its convocation on Tuesday night. Seventeen Divs graduated, including a few friends of mine. A number of prizes and awards were also presented. I was awarded the Dean Feilding Scholarship for highest standing in the first year, and the Sidney Childs Prize for Dogmatics (Systematic Theology).

I have to admit some pride at the accomplishment. In some ways I think I ought to have done more to earn this...I know and remember all the times when I fudged and fell short. That's the actor's psyche for you...always questioning one's own qualifications and validity.


A very cool guy is speaking on Big Ideas right now. Dr. Gerald Taiaiake Alfred is giving a lecture about First Nations (Native American, for my Yankee friends) politics, history and future. He's outlining the most intelligent and comprehensive picture of the problem and potential pitfalls that I've ever heard...about any societal situation. One of his strongest themes (which he writes about in his latest book) is that the ends relate to the means, which I think is the primary weapon of the colonist. As soon as a colonized people agrees to play ball on the colonist's field, the game is over.

God bless TVO, and all public broadcasting. Intelligent TV kicks butt. Of course, now I want to read that book.

|